I Hope I Can Have As much Integrity

I watched the founder of Stone Brewing talk about his business and decisions not to sell his brewery.

What I especially like about this video is the admission that money matters. “I can’t run my business without it,” Koch says.

Yeah. It’s all well and good and really easy to talk about how easy it is to sell out, or tell everyone who wants you stay true that you have righteous fury and will never yield to The Man.

End of the day, though, some kind of yielding is necessary, if you want to do what you want to do. The question is: how far do you yield? For Koch, it seems that he’s willing to yield enough to keep the money rolling in and his business thriving…but understands himself well enough to know that he doesn’t need more. That kind of self awareness is worth appreciating.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.