Vienna Ale

Vienna ale in a glass on a living room table

Usually Vienna malt is used for lagers but I have always liked the flavor of Vienna malt, so I thought I’d give an ale a try and see what it turns out like

Pretty good! The malt is very forward, and it has a distinct caramel flavor. The brightness and clarity is strong for my efforts, and there’s a nice, white, persistent head on this beer giving it a great visual impact.

This beer is a little too sweet though. I think that if I’d amped up the bitterness on the finish that it would probably be better. This isn’t bad, but with a citrus bitterness to contrast the caramel flavor, I’d have something really special.

So, I have a path forward, and that feels good.

Brew date: 12/9/23

Steeping grains
6 lb Vienna malt
1 lb biscuit
1 bl American Honey
1 lb North Star Pils

Fermentables: 4 lb ExLME

Hops
@60, .5 oz CTZ, 1oz Wilamette
@5 .5oz CTZ, 1oz Willamette

Yeast: Imperial Flagship (2nd use)

OG: 1.07

FG: 1.012

Additives to water: 1 tsp gypsum

Bottled 12/17

ABV: 7.9%

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.