Spring…Late?

35140105302_9fe453ffea_c

I’ve been making some pale ales to contrast the brown, this one created when I thought that Spring would show up soon…

It’s a Sorachi Ace pale; nose is faint but pleasant, with a soft grassy quality that has an undercurrent of grain to it. The head lasts pretty long too: half way through the beer and there is still plenty of foam on the top.

The flavor is pretty solid; a fine element of malt in there but this finish….
It is bone dry. I don’t know exactly how I did this. It’s so dry, it leaves a feeling in my mouth like I’ve touched a 9 volt with my tongue.
It’s pretty good though, easy to drink and not heavy at all.
I just wish it had been a little warmer out when I was drinking it.

Brew date: 3.19.17

Steeping grains
4 lb Munich
3 lb Maris Otter
1 lb 6 Row

Fermentables: 4 lb ExLME

Hops
3/4 oz Mosaic @ 60
1/2 oz Sorachi Ace @ 60
1/2 oz Sorachi Ace @ 5
1/4 oz Mosaic @ 5

Yeast: Imperial’s Dieter

OG: 1.072

FG: 1.018

2ndary on 3/30, 1 oz Sorachi Ace added

Bottle 4/2

ABV: 7.3%

Leave a Reply

