Respite 39/Second Pint GfM

34986044771_bcee9a91a0_cAgainst The Grain’s Tex-Arcana, which is a Belgian stout inspired by Dr Pepper, catches my eye. 23 ingredients, exclaims the description.

Eh, I don’t taste it. This definitely has a Belgian yeast note, which skews the beer unpleasantly. The rest of what I’m picking up is coffee flavors with a side of Belgian cloying sweet. I’m very glad I got a short pour, as I’m considering gulping it down so I don’t have to endure this beer for any longer than is absolutely necessary.

All my other choices we’re too boring or too reliable, though, which is weird to say. However, I know that I will probably like the offering by Modern Times. I know that I won’t have an interesting take on Pliny the Elder.

Well…sometimes you risk and you win. Sometimes you risk and you lose. Most of the time it’s about even.

It’s too loud in here, today. Too many shouted voices-one table is laughing too loud, the other having a debate on immigration-and it’s been a pretty heavy week, in my mind. I can’t recall living in a city hit so recently by a terrorist incident-and let’s not mince words, those men last week were murdered by a white power terrorist-but the undercurrent of dread is one that I can’t slough off.

Couple that with watching my country visibly go from the “leader of the free world” to a status that is mocked, via leadership that is cruel and stupid in under a week and I find myself less tolerant of human company.

Part of me wants to shout at them, just to get everyone to shut the hell up for a moment. We’re living through a crisis, right? Perhaps a more somber tone is called for?

However, I am reminded of something my friend Miranda says often: “Any little bit of joy”, and I cannot find it in myself to quash someone’s moment. They are with friends, they are together.

Together is how we are going to make it. I’d rather encourage that then extinguish it.

This second pint goes towards the fund for the girls who survived last week’s MAX attack.

One thought on “Respite 39/Second Pint GfM”

Leave a Reply

