Respite 32/ Second Pint Freepress

33122590923_2da173bc4b_zToday: Block 15’s Sticky Hands Brewer’s Cut.

The nose doesn’t give much away, being dankish, marijuana tilted, but not overwhelming at all…

But the finish lays it all out there. It feels like I’m running a small metal screen over my tongue and there isn’t anything  to weight the front end to protect my tongue from such a grating.

Is it bad? No. Instead, this is a beer that is telling me what it is-five hops are listed as part of the profile, and the ABV at 8.1% isn’t suggesting an imperial style- and fulfilling it. Instead, that’s me, hoping that it will be balanced.

Do I want another? No. Do I have regrets? No, not in this instance.

I can accept this choice because the consequences of this beer will last about thirty minutes.

It’s not like I projected my hopes onto a person, who was serially lying and promoting terrifying ideologies to any and everyone in the hopes that he could be a leader. Like I am having to make a decision that I will have to live with for years. Thirty minutes is not a very long, nor difficult time, to have to endure almost any bad decision.

I’ve just come from dinner with a friend and despite our best efforts to talk about games, movies, TV, books, comics…politics filtered in. Which is why I’m thinking about these decisions right now.

I’m starting to think that almost nobody actually likes politics. We have lives and issues to try and wrangle on our own without having to worry about politics. That’s why we farm that work out. Yet, it is becoming increasingly clear that the inter connective qualities of the world matter and…it’s tiring.

One of the reasons I think Americans are so angry is that we have to deal with this bullshit, shit that we entrusted other people to manage with dignity and our best interests as citizens…but the overwhelming evidence that money pulls those strings harder than votes do, so it’s time to cut those strings, that we have to do that work (again, in some respects), pisses us off. Makes it harder to listen to people…hell, anger makes damn near everything harder.

Today’s Second Pint goes to Freepress.

Leave a Reply

