45

I got a Block 15 Atmosphere: a dry hopped pale ale. As with so many beers from Block 15, the execution is grand. The nose is pleasantly pine tilted but the body and finish don’t ride that rail very hard. It’s got a nice crisp quality that would go very well on hot days.

It isn’t often that I get to have a blog post on my actual birthday but hey, here we are! So I’ll take advantage of it. I ask whatever forgiveness I must from my readers for this indulgence, and also because all my pictures came out too dark, so I don’t have a photo o my beer.

I spent the day trying to be as actively kind as I could. Extra tips for serving staff, extra words for people I encountered whom I liked, extra everything. It’s my birthday: being actively kind seems like a good practice.

Part of that was being thankful, thankful for family, thankful for friends, thankful for readers.

It’s a strange world and I think we should strive to keep it that way, especially as we can arc it towards true kindness in any manner.

I’m getting to listen to a band I’ve not heard before, Cadaver, that mines the kind of music I like. That doesn’t happen often and I’m thankful for that, too.

It’s my birthday and I want to make a better world. So I’m going to work towards that.

As mission statements go, that’s not bad.

Leave a Reply

