Do You Stand in Line?

Do you wait in line to get food or beer?

My answer is always: No. I live in Portland and one can find  pretty good food and very good beer anywhere. If there’s a line at one place, I can quite literally throw a rock in nearly any direction and find a place that will do just as well, without having to wait.

As a result, I generally look upon people who stand in line for beer or food as a little silly. Why are you waiting for tacos? Tacos are everywhere! What’s the point of waiting to get the latest Abyss? Just to have it?

This guy has a different take on the subject and it has me reconsidering my position on the matter.

Because he’s right: coming together for a common thing is a way to connect to people and that’s what being excited about something is about. Sharing it with other people.

I still don’t think I’m going to be waiting in line though. But I can support those who want to do it!

 

Leave a Reply

