Common Ales: Ninkasi Dino Ales

When I was small, I loved dinosaurs. I was ahead of the curve on that one-most kids I  knew were not into dinosaurs; it wouldn’t really be until the 1980s that they became cool. I don’t think it’s a stretch to say that my love of dinosaurs translated, at least a little bit, to a love of any kind of monster, especially giant ones.

So when I saw that Ninkasi had two beers with dinosaur themed names, I thought; if this isn’t a perfect excuse to compare them, then what am I doing with my life?

The Tricerahops Double IPA first. This beer has been around for a bit- I think it might even be part of their regular lineup, but there’s never a bad time to revisit a Ninkasi beer. The label says ‘earthy hops’ and that’s not an inaccurate description. Like wet forest. There isn’t much malt to sweeten it up though; they’ve gone in on a dry finish which accentuates the bitter send off. It’s pretty straightforward beer, when all is said and done. I don’t know if it’s a flaw in my pour or not but I wish I was getting more nose off the Tricerahops because the ending is coming on very strong and there isn’t much to prepare my mouth for it.

31828736314_f44128b458_cNext is the Velocihoptor Double IPA. The nose has a nice grassy note to it but there’s as lot more malt to the flavor. The finishing bitterness isn’t as strong but leans more into a citrus family tree. As the beer develops an  orange peel flavor comes out a little more but it still isn’t overwhelming. I think I like this beer over the other: the sweetness is fuller, with a little roasted quality helps make this beer more drinkable and balanced.

One thought on “Common Ales: Ninkasi Dino Ales”

Leave a Reply

