Measure The Court

While I was running through the Ecliptic brewery, sliding around actual professionals who make beer for a living I saw this:

30842046265_13307cd4f5_c

And I thought, “I have a hydrometer like that at home.”

Which brought to mind this scene from Hoosiers.

I don’t talk about it much, but I don’t consider myself to be a great brewer. I have had a lot more failure than successes, more undrinkable beers than drinkable ones. I won’t deny that I have improved: twelve years of brewing should show some improvement, damnit. I just seem to drink beers made by others that are (almost) always better than mine.

In the end though, there isn’t any magical difference between what they’re doing as professionals and what I’m doing. Skill, certainly, knowledge, more expensive tools, no question.

But it’s not magic. It’s just work.

5 thoughts on “Measure The Court”

  1. I doubt that in 12 years of experience you’ve made more undrinkable beers than otherwise. We get better with every batch! =)

    If you’re ever interested in trading homebrews, let me know. I always welcome input from people to know where to tweak my recipes, especially fellow home-brewers.

Leave a Reply

