Upon My Wicked Son

I was in Nevada at the end of March to help my Dad move to Washington, so of course I went ale hunting. Moving sucks: might as well find some beer, right? As always, here are the mildly edited notes:

26480721590_9033aba511_zThree Heads: Common Man lager-a great malted beer but I practically don’t care because I figured out how to open a beer without an opener. See, my Dad took off for awhile and I was left in an apartment alone without any access to a tool that would open a beer. That is a massive problem! It took a couple searches on the internet, more than a few false starts and definitely some creative repurposing of existing items but! I got the damn thing open. It could’ve been a Budweiser and I still would’ve felt proud.

The beer itself lacks any bite, so the sweetness might be a little much for some people but I was ready for some serious  pub food.

Tenaya Creek: Bonanza Brown- this is a solid ale and it’s got enough chocolate malt to give it some heft but is light on the palate and easy to drink.

The next day I had Mother Earth’s imperial stout and it was pretty good. But that was moving day, so I don’t remember a lot. After long days, the caveman brain kicks in heavy: this beer good. Drink some.

26480722560_95baa7c81b_zTap It: American Standard Ale-session pale. Smells like a cross between Belgian tripel and wet paper. I was not terribly hopeful and the beer followed through. The texture is wet paperlike and the flavor is off. Did this go bad or is there an actual Belgian yeast involved? I don’t know but it’s not good.

This was, unfortunately the first beer I had after 23 hours of driving in two days and…well, no. By now I’m in Washington though, so my beer selection changed.

Modern Times: Lost Horizon (edit, thanks to my friend who saw this error)-Caramel nose, citrus finish, like it. I liked it a lot. So much that I considered going back for more right away.

Iron Horse: Hopkreig IPA- medicinal smell and the bitterness contains that band-aid plasticy thing, too. This is the first beer I’ve had from them that I truly thought went awry but it goes awry in a big, big way.

26660240372_22df15d665_zBale Breaker: Field 41 pale- This is a really nice pale. The nose has a pine tilt but it isn’t overwhelming, the bitterness on the finish says “hello-goodbye” as the effervescence clears it away. I would like another, please.

Selkirk Abbey: Saint Augustine Rye saison ale-Belgian funky nose which I was not thrilled with and my concern meter began to rise. The beer is light and crisp though. It’s a bit sweeter on the saison flavor, not funky or beligany-sweet. It’s dry, which I like. Overall, a win here.

One thought on “Upon My Wicked Son”

Leave a Reply

