Common Ales: Ninkasi Total Domination IPA

24932946922_7b5307e95e_kI just went for this one, because if there’s a beer I can consistently find from Ninkasi, it’s the Total Domination. If I’m wrong, Ninkasi, let me know! It’s not as though I won’t buy more beer.

The nose is definitely pushing the pine/marijuana funk. There is a middle to this beer comprised of toasty but not sweet flavors, however they has zero chance to stand up to the bitterness on the finish.

Because wow, that bitterness swings through your mouth like a juggernaut. Just blows everything else out. On the one hand, I have to say that the beer lives up to its name. On the other hand, the intensity of this bitterness makes the beer difficult to recommend. It’s not easy to pair with most food but I can see it clearing out buffalo wings pretty well.

I suppose if there’s a complaint to be directed here, it’s that the beer isn’t very complex. That could also a strength, though. This is a pretty straightforward IPA and either you’re going to be down for what it’s offering or you are not.

Personally, I can get down with this beer. If you’re buying it for me, I’m good with that. But if I’m buying something for you? I might just check to see if that’s what you’re into.

Leave a Reply

