Sir We Have A Problem

I got the recipe for this from the White House’s web site. President Obama asked the kitchen to make homebrew and I thought; well hey, I should totally see what kind of beer the President likes. So I made it.

There are…issues.

There’s a spiciness in the nose and I’m pretty sure that this is due to the fermentation temperatures over the actual yeast, which was just an english ale yeast, or the addition of honey.

This is the slight drawback to brewing under less than advanced conditions: I ferment my beer in my basement. The temps are steady, which is good, but subject to climate change, which is bad. I figure I’m getting about 1/2 of a bottle per beer. Not the best yield.

It hasn’t resulted in a bad beer; The spicy quality in the nose is present in the finish and it’s not a hoppy thing, it’s more floral. This could be due to the pound of honey: with the other sugars eaten, it’s pretty easy to imagine the residual floral elements taking up the space left over.

It’s a pretty good looking beer too, when the foam hasn’t take over. The drawback of finding a flaw in my process means that I probably won’t see the correction for another three recipes. Still, I’d like to give this beer another shot, perhaps this fall.

Brew date 6.27

Malt
.75 lb Amber Crystal C60
.5 belgian biscuit
5 lb 2 row

Fermentables
4 lb LME
1.25 lb of honey

Hops
2 oz UK Kent Goldings @ 60
2oz Fuggles @ 6

Yeast: Widsor dry yeast 3rd use

OG 1.072

FG 1.014

Secondary on 7/5

ABV 7.8%

Leave a Reply

