Common Ale: Cascade Lakes Hop Smack

The gracious people at Cascade Lakes told me their Hop Smack IPA was their best seller. So away we go! Except for a photo. Which I swore I got! Twice! But it’s nowhere. I just need to hire someone for pictures I suppose.

First thing I noticed was there was not a lot of head retention, which is unusual for and IPA. The lemony hop scent sticks with it though through the initial impressions, so it’s got that going for it. I’m trying to get my head around the middle and finish. Citrus is definitely there but it’s around the corner from the middle which has some orange-gummy like sweetness.

Midway through the beer and it becomes more orange gummy/caramel sweetness than hops. The finish though, doesn’t really seem that hoppy. It’s bitter, yes but as appropriate for a pale I think.

It’s not bad, don’t get me wrong. Not at all. I find this beer to be cromulent and worth a pint. However, I’m not certain that I want another-and that’s one of the qualities that many great beers have.

It’s good but I feel like I can move on.

Leave a Reply

