On The Rail: Ecliptic

Due to a miscommunication, I have arrived in the Mississippi area with nobody to meet and no goals to accomplish. Sounds like a good time to check out Ecliptic brewing again. I ask about the Points Unknown IPA, a collaboration with the Stone & Wicked Weed breweries. Told it’s a blend of 25% Belgian trippel ale aged in tequila & red wine barrels, and 75% double IPA.

Whoa. Let’s try that.

It’s complicated, I’ll give the beer that. The tequila aftertaste is in the nose, after the fruitiness, and the beer tastes…weird. The finish is dry with a hint of cough medicine in it, then goes vegetal on me. The middle seems almost nonexistent. I really can’t recommend this blend and I’m disappointed because I haven’t had a beer from Ecliptic I’ve liked yet, but I’ve been told so many good things. Everyone else loves them and I’m standing there asking why?

The man next to me asks about the beer, so I tell him. As soon as the word ‘tequila’ comes out of my mouth, his eyes get wide and he says “Tequila is a bad idea for me.” He decides on the porter and when I ask him about it, he says “It reminds me of McMinamins,” (and my eyes go wide with negativity) “but that’s really not so bad,” he finishes.

Oh?

“Yes,” he says, “but I’m not sure how to describe it better yet. I’m just going to stare at my phone until it comes to me.” I nod; sometimes you have to let your brain go in order to hit on the proper description.

“It’s not bad,” he adds, absentmindedly, “but I think you could probably get a better sense of it if you had a sample.”

Probably true but I’ve had my only beer here, so Ecliptic’s redemption will have to wait for another day.

One thought on “On The Rail: Ecliptic”

  1. You don’t like Ecliptic’s beers? What’s wrong with you?

    Maybe it’s because you have a palate and their beers just aren’t all that good.

    Typical Portland really—no one wants to eat their own or speak ill of those deemed immune to criticism—whether deserved or not.

    So for that, thanks!

Leave a Reply

