On The Rail: Ground Breaker

During craft beer week, nearly everyplace worth drinking at is crowded to drink at and Ground Breaker is no exception…except at the rail. The tables are all full so I gleefully take a spot by myself, to take advantage of a chance to be alone in a crowd.

I got the imperial IPA at Ground Breaker because it’s their first imperial IPA and I want to know how it is. Some nights, it isn’t a complicated decision. And the nose is so good. So good! Flowery and a bit of pine, there’s a hint of fresh forest here that has me looking forward to the rest of this beer.

Unfortunately, there’s a medicinal note on the finish. I want to like this beer; it has a solid hop bite and the nose is great. It does what I want an IPA to do with just one notable flaw. It’s a flaw I can’t overlook however. So I rinse my mouth with water and try it again.

Nope. There it is, on the edges of the back corners of my tongue, a taste of medicine, of something that is there to stop my sniffling and sneezing so I can rest flavor instead of hops.

Damnit. I normally would have the Dark ale, which I really like: the chestnut flavor is not only unique but delicious and I have always enjoyed it. I don’t regret taking a chance on a new thing; that’s one of the glories of loving craft beers but it’s a bummer when the beer comes so close to the mark and misses.

One thought on “On The Rail: Ground Breaker”

  1. Interesting 1st paragraph. I would venture to say that it is the near-misses that make for interesting drinking – and conversation/writing. Somebody once said something like: good families are all the same. Bad families are bad in their own unique way. Wish I could remember that more accurately. Point is still in the quote. I mean, it sounds like you enjoyed, even liked, the beer but it has flaws, like a friend. Could’ve had another but it was time to go: the friend’s flaws had been too prominent on this night.

Leave a Reply

