Coulda Woulda Shoulda

The head on this is amazing: like velvet, it hits the upper lip. It’s also super clear: deep  umber clarity through the glass. This puppy looks good, I tell you.

The beer itself…falls short of the IPA I was going for. I didn’t stick the landing. There’s a solid malt backbone in here but I didn’t get much in the way of a hoppy nose nor a appropriate finish. Grrrr.

I’m bothered by this because I feel like I used an appropriate amount of hops in the brew, along with a secondary hop addition to provide the scent notation that I’d like this beer to have. It’s not as though this beer is ruined! It’s perfectly drinkable. But Coulda Woulda Shoulda isn’t what I was going for and I wish it was more on target.

Brew Date: 1.11.15

Steeping Malts
2.25 lb Irish Pale
2 lb Munich
2lb 2 row
1 lb Carabrown
1 lb C40

Fermentables: 7 lb LME

Hops
1 oz Simcoe, 1 oz Warrior @60
1 oz Cluster @20
1 oz Warrior @5

Yeast: 1084 Wyeast, 3rd use

OG: 1.09

FG: 1.024

1 oz Simcoe in secondary on 1.25.15
Bottled 2.8

ABV: 10.16%

Leave a Reply

