Sixpoint Brewing

Some of you may recall one of my recent trips to Bailey’s, where I had Sixpoint’s lager and wasn’t all that fond of it. Shortly after that post, I was contacted by Shane of Sixpoint who invited me to an event they were having at Bailey’s to try some of their other beers. Plus, he saw that I was a homebrewer and was willing to give me some feedback on my own beer, if I was willing to bring some.

Hell yes. Let’s do that.

Shane’s in the hat

So last Tuesday I was lucky to join Shane and some of his friends to sit down and try some other beers from Sixpoint. I didn’t get to talk to Shane much–though when we did have time, he gave me some wonderful feedback on my beers, and thank you for that!–so I didn’t get as much information about Sixpoint’s brews as I would’ve liked. I did, however, take some notes on what I had so here you go:

Bengali: nice pale. Resiny finish: El Dorado hops, I’m told. Pine nose, slightly floral and it’s not too potent. It’s pretty easy to sip on and the bitterness is nicely offset by the effervescence on the finish. I like it; it feels commercial in the best sense: A beer that is well within style but isn’t meant to drive people away from the style by pushing the sharpness too far.

Beast Mode porter with coffee. THIS is what I expect a porter to be like. It’s tasty, flavorful, chocolate with hint of coffee in the nose but the body is appropriately light. It leaves a bit of coffee on my tongue from the finish but it’s not heavy at all, pointing out what I like and expect out of porters, vs. the density and viscosity I would expect from a stout.

I also had a Resin IPA and it’s good. A solid entry into the NWIPA style market out here but I didn’t have an opportunity to sit down and take notes, so you’ll just have to take my word for it.

Next up: Shane gets to try my beer. He told me that I need to pay more attention to yeast. It’s been the one thing I’ve neglected and I suppose that’s the next stage. I’ll paraphrase the feedback he gave:

Stout: pretty good, with a touch of funk on the finish that is making it stand out from the average. (Unfortunately, I have no idea how I got that funk. I suppose I will just have to brew it again and see if that repeats).

The ESB (which I’ll talk about soon), good but Shane detected a soapy/peanut butter scent in the nose which he told me means the yeast started to eat itself. This suggests that the starter I made was pitched after it’s peak time. I may need to do research to try improve my yeast pitching schedule. In addition, I used an Irish Ale yeast for this beer and I should used an English Ale one, to provide more ester (sweeter, fruity) qualities. But that’s what I get for going by the seat of my pants all the time!

2 thoughts on “Sixpoint Brewing”

Leave a Reply

