Decisions Decisions Decisions

Look at this:
I mean, just look at this!
Those are two different pictures I took at the Fred Meyer on 28th and Broadway and it doesn’t even cover the entirety of the craft beer section or the selection of 22oz beers available.

That is an absurd amount of choices, choices that, for the most part, beer writers don’t talk about. It’s the kind of thing that gives me option paralysis. But this is what most consumers are looking at, every time they want to buy a craft beer: these are the choices. And we don’t talk about them! How does that make any sense?

Don’t get me wrong: I know that Belmont Station, Beermongers, John’s Market, Saraveza, etc, are all doing a huge service to beer lovers in Portland. I just feel as though there is something that doesn’t get talked about much and maybe it’s time to take a swing at that.

So I’m going to ask some of the larger craft breweries what their best selling beer is, one that I can easily buy in a grocery store, and then purchase and review it. It’s going to take me awhile, I know, so bear with but I think it’ll be valuable both as a drinker and writer, as chance to look at what’s making these popular beers popular beyond marketing, and hopefully for a reader, as a way to narrow down the field when looking at all these choices.

2 thoughts on “Decisions Decisions Decisions”

  1. Love this idea! I often take longer than I want to stare at all the six-pack options while buying the weekly groceries. What to do!? This should help me narrow in on something before walking into the beer isle. Also, the Freddy’s on Broadway and 28th has a ridiculous selection for a grocery store. Check out their growler fill station, too. Impressive.

    1. Thanks! I know that Fred Meyer is pretty big but these days (and I didn’t know about the growler station!), but nearly every grocery store has as pretty broad selection. I want to dig into this–so I’m happy someone else is excited about the idea!

Leave a Reply

