Fake British Accents

This is part one of back to back experiments I did: this one to make a more British-oriented IPA, the other to make an American one (Which I’ll talk about in a couple weeks).

Of course, I didn’t bother to actually research what I should be doing, I just did stuff and hoped for the best. Always good practice, right? Kinda, though I doubt this beer’s lineage to British style IPAs.

Still, things worked out pretty well. This is a beer that really needs to be poured into a glass, because the hops are not overwhelming but neither is the finishing bitterness. That bitter quality starts to add up as the drink is finished but I haven’t found it to be dominating by any means, which is what I was shooting for. It seems to hit the easy drinking qualities that I’d hope for from a British IPA so I suppose from that perspective, it’s a win.

I suppose I could’ve called this a pale, but what’s the fun in that?

Brew date: 1.12.14

Steeping malt
1.5 lb Biscuit
1 lb Wheat
1.5 lb C120
3 lb 2 row
.5 lb Vienna

Fermentables: 3.5 lb LME

Hops
.75 oz Warrior hops (pellets)
.75 Amarillo hops
.5 zo Palisade @ 40 (pellets)
.5 oz Palisade@ 20
.25 oz Warrior @ 5
.25 oz Willamette @ 5
.25 oz Amarillo @ 5

Yeast:
Wyeast 1272 American II-2nd use

OG: 1.059

FG: 1.018

Put into secondary 1.22

ABV: 5.5%

One thought on “Fake British Accents”

Leave a Reply

