BC Pale

I named this the BC Pale because it used hops that start with B and C.

Sigh.

You know, I think I’m going to start naming my beers in the style of Iain M Banks’s Culture novels. Why call this the BC Pale when I could call it Weight Of The World Crushes Atlas or Screw You Guys, I’m Going Home? Isn’t that more fun?

Plus, it means I don’t have to think up something ‘appropriate’, which is always a drag.

The beer? The beer is a pretty solid pale. I’ve nearly drank it all, so I think this will be one to come back to, perhaps as a partial-grain batch.

Brew date: 12.24.13

Steeping Grains:
1 lb C 120
1 lb Victory

Fermentables: 7 lb LME

Hops
.5 oz Chinook @preboil
1 oz Comet @ 60
.5 oz Bravo @ 60
.25oz Bravo @30
.5 oz Comet @ 30

Yeast Reused Hopworks Ale yeast-2nd

OG: 1.068

FG: 1.014

Note: Added 1/8th tsp Calcium Carbonate to water to boil to give water a more ‘traditional’ chemical balance.

Secondary 1.8.14
Bottled 1.11.14

ABV: 7.31%

Leave a Reply

