Perspective

After reading this article about a man trying to change the way Germans look at brewing beer, I definitely feel fortunate that we don’t have similar ‘brewing purity laws’ in the US.

On the other hand, I know that restraint brings creativity and sometimes, when I’m looking for a beer or reading stories about what breweries are doing, I cannot help but think that the unfettered creativity often leads to outlandish plays for attention, instead of some thoughtful attempts at pushing the envelope of what is possible.

Despite that, I believe I’d rather live in an environment where something like the Maple Bacon Stout was possible, instead of illegal.

On a slightly different axis, Ratebeer has a list of the best stuff by state, even listing other countries like Canada, Britain and Germany. So Fuz, there’s stuff for you to look for!

I can’t really argue with The Abyss being the best beer in Oregon. Hair of the Dog being the best brewery though…I think they may get more attention than is warranted. They are good but I don’t think they’re the best. De Garde Brewing is a new name to me, so I’ll have to keep my eyes out. They’re bottling so hopefully I can find it in a bottle shop.

As for Washington, I can only express my disappointment that I cannot seem to get my neighbor’s beers that easily. Perhaps I need to go shopping more often? I suppose I could drive to Vancouver for beer but…that seems like an awful lot of trouble for beer.

I probably wouldn’t feel that way if I didn’t live in Portland but I do so lucky me!

2 thoughts on “Perspective”

  1. I’ve had the Driftwood…not bad. And I’ve drunk a beer or two from Powell, to boot.

    What does kind of weird me out is that I’ve not had the “Best Beer” from Washington, nor have I even heard of the “Best Brewery.”

Leave a Reply

