Where I Want To Go: Lion’s Eye

It will come as no surprise to readers of this blog that I’ve returned to the  Lion’s Eye. If it was closer-and I lived in an area less full of awesome-I would probably attempt to go there weekly. As it stands: I was easily able to convince my girlfriend to join me for an evening of revelry (although she was probably coming along in part to just quiet me about the place.)

I had a Base Camp Ultra Gnarly IPA and it was quite tasty. It seemed to be a bit bolder than Base Camp’s usual offerings and I appreciate that they are occasionally trying some new stuff. My girlfriend was suitably impressed with the Lion’s Eye and remarked how quiet it was, especially since it was right on 82nd. I hadn’t noticed that last time but it’s true; this pub is really a nice place to hang out.

Which leads me to wonder: ‘how does a place like this continue to exist in such a divey area?’ When I was at Andy’s bar, I could tell there was a group of regulars who were there every night.

Though we are here on a Friday evening and there were customers, the Lion’s Eye isn’t full of people, wrestling to be served. There should be: this place is great. So what’s keeping this going?

I got up to walk around this time and on the other side of the room there were two pool tables, both of which had games being run on them. That’s when I noticed the collection of trophies in the back. Lots of trophies, all for billiards.

I turned back to the tables and took a quick look at them: new black felt, immaculate and deep in color, the kind of surface you want to play pool on.  The light bulb went off in my head; you bring in people who want to play the game and you respect their desires for an excellent environment to play in.

That’s how you keep it going: you build a culture and you respect it, and they in turn respect you. This is on top of a fine beer list and wait staff who have, both times I’ve been in, been  great.

Don’t tell anyone else. This bar is going to be come my Secret Place of Awesome.

Leave a Reply

