Crystal Rye Zythos

That’s what I called the beer in my notes, anyway. Faint citrus in the nose but it isn’t strong. I don’t think this is a scent hop.

The bitterness is a solid, steady citrus pith at the end. Zythos hops do provide a nice bite so any future use I have for them will probably be at the start of the boil and definitely to add any kind of citrus flavor to the finish.

All in all, however, this is a solid beer. I can’t say it’s super impressive; maybe I’ve gotten used to hitting a certain bar of quality and it’s hard to tell when I’ve really nailed it.  I can’t say that is a bad thing; good beer is good!

I can share the recipe, so here goes:

Brew date: 7.19.13

Steeping Grains
1.5 lb C 80
1 lb Crystal Rye

Fermentables
7 lb LME
added @ 20

Hops-Zythos
1/8th oz in preboil
.75 oz @ 60
.5 oz @ 20

Yeast:
Reuse of Hopworks, last use

OG: 1.052

FG: 1.012

Secondary on 7.28
Added .25 oz of Zythos to this

ABV: 5.4%

Bottled 8.7.13

Thanks for reading everyone, I’ll see you next on September 9th!

4 thoughts on “Crystal Rye Zythos”

  1. I think if you can can consistently make a good, solid, drinkable beer you have done very well. If you can make an very good beer consistently then you have done A+ work. You’re getting there.

  2. Nice try. Thanks for sharing the recipe. I love trying different beer brewing mixes. It’s a big turn on for me whenever I make beer mixes with frothy look and feel. Speaking of beer mixes, I have different beer brewing mixes you could try. For newbies, I also have beer brewing start up kits. Hope we can gather altogether one day and share something like this. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

