Mild, Take 2

Although the last mild came up a little strong, this one is much closer to what I was looking for. And it’s ready just in time for the heat!

There’s two distinct parts to this mild; the first is the nose, which thanks to the Ringwood yeast strain, echos the kind of Belgian funkiness you might get from from a much different beer. Interestingly, this flavor doesn’t appear anywhere else in the mild, so I get the benefit of adding complexity without kicking up the alcohol content.

The other part is the hop bitterness at the finish. That lingers a little longer than I think it ought to. It’s not bad but I think the Glacial hops overrode any other hop flavors that might have stuck around at the end. It’s not bad, just a quality that I felt should be noted.

All in all, a pretty good beer for summer though. Not too heavy and with something interesting to taste: I’ll call this one a win.

Date: 5.18.13

Steeping Grains:
2 lb 2 Row
2 lb Munich
1 lb C30

Fermentables: 2 lb LME

Hops:
.25 oz Glacial (added in preboil)
1 oz Glacial (pellets) @ 60
.5 oz Citra pellets @ 60
.25 oz Palasade @ 60
.25 oz Palasade @ 30
.5 oz Glacial @ 10

Yeast:
reuse Ringwood, 3rd use, done

OG: 1.046

FG: 1.009

Secondary on 5. 24, added .5 oz Glacier
Bottled 6.1.13

ABV 5.01%

2 thoughts on “Mild, Take 2”

  1. Thanks for putting this recipe together. I’ve been wanting to try my hand at making some more sessionable beers, so this will come in handy when I’m playing around with recipes. I was also wondering if you ever worked with other writers on posts for your site? I’ve been homebrewing for a while and I’m trying to do some beer-related writing, so I thought I’d reach out to see if this is something you might be interested in.

    Keep up the good work and I’m looking forward to hearing back from you.

    Cheers,
    Blake

    1. Well, it’s been a thought and sometimes it would be helpful. I wouldn’t mind the occasional post but this blog isn’t just about homebrewing so I’d hope that other posts would fit in to the feel of the rest of the blog. You could talk to me more at gentleman.villain@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

