Science!

What we have here is yet another article about why using clear glass to store bottled beer is a bad idea. I was preparing to come in with a certain level of snark about it when I realized, looking at my carboys, which are clear, that I may be doing the same thing.

A few years ago, I started covering wort that was actively fermenting with an old jacket. The carboys were already in the basement, so they weren’t getting a lot of light but I figured a little more protection couldn’t hurt. This process lasted until one of the cats decided that this jacket just didn’t have enough cat urine on it, and this was a problem that needed solving.

Now I put the carboys in cardboard boxes. I do this because I don’t have a fridge to store these things in.

Once the wort has fermented into beer, I’ll transfer it into secondary for any additional hops and clarity purposes but I usually don’t put the carboy back into a box for this. Fermenting is done; all is well (or so I thought.)

Reading this article, I’m thinking that perhaps I should do a little more to protect my beer from light, for as long as I can. If I’ve learned anything in the past few years, it’s that the little things really do add up and make for a better beer.

Leave a Reply

