Mystery Beer

We have this conversation from time to time at the house:

“What kind of beer is this?”
“I dunno. Free beer. Drink it!”

And this is because I write things down so I don’t have to remember which beer is which. I can just drink it. I usually come back with: ‘ah, it’s a (whatever)’, when I’ve checked my records.

This time, however, when asked I didn’t know, because I failed to write down the style when I was making it.

Oh well. It’s good! There’s a nice hint of pine at the nose and the finish, but there’s a solid malt back with touches of chocolate to keep it all under control. The carbonation is full of tiny bubbles and long lasting. I’m pleased with this. It’s good enough that I’m going to give this a go in this year’s Slurp & Burp competition. Given how it tastes, I’m calling it an American Pale Ale. I’d say IPA but it just doesn’t seem hoppy enough so I’m going to hedge my bets.

Recipe:

Brew Date: 12.25.12

.5 lb Wheat
.5 lb Munich
.5 lb Baird Brown
.75 lb Victory
7 lb LME

1/4 oz Cascade before boil starts (about 170)
1 oz Magnum @ 60
1/4 oz Cascade @ 60
1/2 oz Cascade @30
Added .5 oz Mosaic @ 15–had to let this boil an extra 15 min for reasons. I was probably distracted by videogames.

Reuse Wyeast 1056 (third and final use)

OG: 1.064

FG: 1.01

ABV (approximate): 7.3%

1oz Mosaic added to 2ndary,
2ndary on 1.13.12
Bottle 1.19

One thought on “Mystery Beer”

Leave a Reply

