7pm Crime Scene Pt 1

For those of you who will not get the reference in the title (which will be just about everyone but me): link.

A quick perhttps://i0.wp.com/farm9.staticflickr.com/8477/8242903599_8a85130e18.jpgusal lead me to Standing Stone‘s Milk & Honey. Hard to resist a beer with that kind of flavor influence.

I was involved in a hit and run last week. Just the hit part, (un)fortunately and thankfully, neither I nor my passenger was hurt. We didn’t collide at high speed, which certainly helped the health of the humans and the health of my vehicle but it was enough to bring me to a complete stop. After a quick check in, I pulled over to see what had happened to the other car… just in time to see it take a right on 9th and drive into the night, out of my presence forever, most likely.

I stood in the street, dumbfounded, wondering why the driver didn’t stop. Because it is weird when people don’t do what they’re supposed to do. There is a set of instructions that are to be followed post collisions and one person deciding to bail mucked the whole thing up. (Odds are, they didn’t have insurance.)

Now, all said and done? No one was hurt and my car still runs, so it’s the best of all outcomes, so far. There’s just that strange sensation of rules not being followed and a not so gentle reminder that we’ve done a great deal of rulemaking in the world, for good and ill, rules that are often just as easy to ignore as follow. The other driver had their reasons for ditching us and while I am irate at this I find it difficult to judge. It is easy to say, ‘If one is so poor they cannot afford insurance, then they shouldn’t drive’ but in the exercise of life, I find that simple axioms like this rarely fulfill all the obligations we find ourselves beholden to. Exceptions get made, rules get broken, all in a desperate hope that we’re doing what’s best, even when it’s wrong.

Everyone knows this but the fact of rulebreaking doesn’t make itself known too often. I have noticed, however, that when it does make itself known in my life, it tends to manifest itself physically.

The Standing Stone is a beer, in part, for people who are either not fond of beer or are new to the craft beer scene. Faint hint of corn on the finish, not unlike many macrobrews, with a maltier nose and some nice mild favors in the body. The honey is hinted at but not very strong and the beer is quite drinkable. Something good after a heavy meal or even an early autumn or late spring drink. I’d order it anytime but that would be when it would feel most appropriate.

It’s possible I am underselling this beer because it is so drinkable. One of the great challenges of someone who really loves something is to recognize the beauty of the ordinary and understand when it becomes worthy of our attention. That may be the case with this beer. I say try it and see what you think.

Leave a Reply

