7pm The Kids Are Alright

“They’re the next generation,” he said to me with an eye rolling cocktail of despair and disgust.

To be fair, the two young men were annoying. Boys, if I had to guess. Talking almost-too-loudly on the bus about such fictions of sex, rebellion and growing a beard this winter. Popping a bubble in the plastic tint of the window, talking of plans to see Dredd and sounding just a bit like Mugsy and Bugsy in their relationship as they parted ways.

I looked at this man with the grizzly gray beard, square glasses and red jacket and said: “I was them, not that long ago,” a shrug rolling from my right to left side. If I’m worried about anything, it’s what the next generation will learn from us.

I’m relating this over a Full Sail Hopenfrisch: their fresh hop offering. It’s a pilsner with Pearle hops and my initial sips were very, very favorable. Light, grassy elements that were pleasantly refreshing.

About one-third of the way through my pint, I have changed my mind drastically. The aftertaste on this beer is sticky and not in a good way. It could be hop bitterness, maybe: the beer certainly isn’t balanced well. This is surprising, because if I would have thought any style would benefit from the mildness of fresh hops, it would be a pilsner.

No. They went wrong here, somehow. The lack of malts means that the bitterness is overwhelming. This beer is actually challenging me to drink it, some kind of horrible gauntlet of bitter hop bite punching my taste buds with every sip. The fresh hop flavor at the beginning is overwhelmed by whatever they used for bittering and it’s ruined the beer for me.

But it was either this or the pumpkin beers and I have no interest in those. Those beers are for the next generation. People who love novelty more than beer because that kind of thing is new to them. Not that I resent a brew tasting like pumpkin pie, there’s just nothing to discuss about it and it’s not worth drinking any other time of the year.

I was one of those people too, not that long ago. Hell, sometimes I still am.
6 thoughts on “7pm The Kids Are Alright”

  1. Damn kids and their “rock n’ roll” music. Wish they’d just stay off my lawn (shaking fist angrily) and keep their novelty beers out of my pubs…

  2. I wouldn’t call them “novelty” beers per say. There’s actually guidelines to different styles of beer and pumpkin beers fit into one of those categories. The thing is that many of the older and less popular styles of beer from all over the globe is making a comeback. Some styles died, others have survived. Some are resurrecting those beers styles too. 🙂 good post!

    1. I guess you’re right. But since pumpkin ales are only available during such a narrow window of time and almost always try to replicate (or at least reference) pumpkin pie, it’s difficult for me to take them out of the ‘novelty’ category. I suppose I’m letting my prejudices cloud things a little.

      1. No worries, I understand where you’re coming from and that was opinion. =) What I really like about the different styles of beer is that there’s a unique narrow window for many different beer styles. Such as Bock season during the spring, summers ales/lagers, Oktoberfest in the fall, and etc. There’s a style for every part of the year to be enjoyed!

Leave a Reply

