7pm The Expertise of Others

Short list of things I wasn’t expecting: the laptop to die. I thought I had 90 minutes on the battery…Oh well. Backup gadget to the rescue!

Current drink is Long‘s ipa: a fresh hop with citra, centennial and cascade hops. They smell like mild grapefruit and taste grassy and delicious.

Had to go through a couple taster beers to get there, though. 10 barrel’s Rude Boy Roggenbier (a rye ale) didn’t appeal to me and Ft George, usually very a reliable creator of suds made a Flanders nut red that had a bizarre tang to it that went after the sides of my tongue and the roof of my mouth. Something went awry there that I did not want any further part of.

Thanks to the awesome bartender who told me the Long ipa is great. I rely on their experience all the time, I appreciate their input and I’m not sure they get much credit.

By now, this beer has been warming up for about five minues and it’s just gotten better. Grassy, grapefruit like qualities but all subdued and easily drinkable. This one is a winner, even if it is a bit more expensive.

It’s pleasantly uncrowded tonight. Maybe the threat of fall is keeping people home? Maybe it’s football? Hard to say. Still, it’s nice: more relaxing, more like a Monday night at a pub ought to be: everyone else stay home!

I don’t actually feel as grumpy as that might sound but I’ve learned to value the low key nights. They let you create the space you want to be in, instead of fighting for a spot in the cacophony. Everybody deserves those chances in their favorite spots from time to time.

2 thoughts on “7pm The Expertise of Others”

    1. Twangy and acidic yes but not, in my experience, rusty. (I could be wrong!) But yes, there was something off about that flanders that a metallic flavor would actually account for. It was dryness in an unpleasant way.

Leave a Reply

