Golden Blunders

The title is misleading: this golden ale came out great! But I can’t pass up a chance to reference the Posies when I get one.

There’s not much more to say here: It was a success, tasted good and had a great look to it. Funny story: while I was cooling this beer, I had to stick my hand in the wort when it was about 80 degrees in order to retrieve a thermometer. I wasn’t sure what was going to happen to this beer since I had to stick my filthy claw into it. I’ve actually called this beer Golden Claw in my notes. Gives it that ‘Sinister Organization out to Kill James Bond’ feel.

Let’s bring on the recipe!

Steeping Grains
.5 lb 2 row
.5 lb Munich
.25 lb munich 20

Fermentables
7 lb LME

Hops
.75 ozo El Dorado @ 60
.25 oz El Dorado, Tradition & Summit @ 40
.5 Tradition @ 15
1/4 tsp Irish Moss for clarity

Yeast
reused Laurelwood from Red ESBish, did starter w/1 gal water, 1 cup sugar

OG
1.069

TG
1.015

ABV
7.09%

2 thoughts on “Golden Blunders”

  1. Not familiar with El Dorado hops. Guess I could look it up, but do you have any interesting info on the varietal and what it offers in terms of bittering and flavor? Why did you choose it? The name makes me think it’s an American hop, but I could be way off.

Leave a Reply

