7pm Mostly, More Is More

I’m sipping on Great Divide’s Hoss, a Marzen made with rye, as I contemplate the thoughts of homicide that I gleefully entertained driving downtown tonight. The comedian Louis Anderson once had a bit where he wished he could kill anyone. But not permanently, just for five minutes. They wake up, dazed, alive, able to go about their day, knowing they’d done something that maybe should’ve gotten them killed.

I like this idea, despite being concerned that I would lose massive chunks of my day, due to the irritation of strangers.

The beer is good at least. Rye gives this beer a bit of a bite, a bit more to taste than the standard Marzen might. The malts haven’t been suppressed by any means, the sweetness merely blunted by a nice shift at the end and some just-shy-of-stinging sensation in the carbonation.

I continue to ponder the Stupid. I believe it’s Hanlon’s Razor that says; never attribute to malice which can be credited to stupidity. Ol’ Robert J. might’ve been a dick and not that hot of a writer but I like his axiom. That and coming up with the word ‘grok’, which I also dig.

That said, I attribute most car-rage issues less to stupidity and more to the arrogance that people have, assuming that they, and by extension their destination, are more important than anyone else’s.

Unless you’ve got flashing lights on your car or you are in circumstances of equal direness, you are not important. You are just like everybody else and should get over it.

I’m regretting that I purchased a small Hoss. This beer has been a little too easy to drink and now I want another; if there’s a critique here, it’s that it’s a little too easy to enjoy. How’s that for a backhanded slam? “Bring me more of this awesome ale:I have drank it too fast and purchased too little!”

I could use more problems like that.

Edit: I was getting Robert J Hanlon confused with Robert Heinlein. I don’t know if Mr. Hanlon was a bad writer and a dick. My apologies.

5 thoughts on “7pm Mostly, More Is More”

  1. Everyday, on my commute home from work, I wish to commit murders. I didn’t used to care so much, but with a child now in the back seat I am easily provoked. It is good that I can self-medicate with a beer when I get home. It sounds like you picked a good one to take the edge off.

    1. It was pretty tasty, alright. Every so often I try to remember that I’m supposed to be talking about beer, even on Mondays…
      /laughs

  2. haha like the post ๐Ÿ™‚ I love the Hoss! It is definitely an easy one to drink ๐Ÿ™‚ Other drivers always cause stress! My boyfriend claims it is “CO drivers.” I dare to disagree.

Leave a Reply

