OBF Wrapup

I want to start off with the good: everybody at the OBF who I met or dealt with was friendly and pretty cool. I even started talking to a man who was visiting from Pennsylvania, tagging along on his wife’s business trip. He asked me about a cool day trip and I told him to go to Mount Hood, then circle around to Hood River. Pretty awesome! Plus, the weather was really mild, which is a pretty nice boon at the end of July.

There was a pretty severe issue though: The serving mugs stunk, smelling of some unholy mixture of corn and rubber. I started telling people that it was like having to sniff a robot scrotum, if that gives you any sense of what we were dealing with. Worse: rinsing the mug out didn’t seem to help until at least halfway through my day!

As a result, I have to qualify nearly every beer I drank here: I either couldn’t smell it, or held my breath so I wouldn’t smell it because the mugs were so awful. That was a problem as you can see from some of my notes, starting with:

Dogfishhead: Positive Contact
Nose is really weird, milky ish? It’s light drinkable and has a hint of Saison spice to it. The style was listed as an experimental lager and I think it suffered greatly in my mug.

Maui Brewing: La Perouse White
Nice flavor very light fruity in a good sense. The style was witbier and I could sense there was something pleasant about this beer but again, the mug overrode some of my senses. (It was at this point that I talked to some other people and found out that everyone was having an issue with the mugs.)

Flying Fish: 16 Wild Rice IPA
I liked it! First beer I could smell, with a nice piney scent. I picked this one up because 1) it’s from New Jersey and 2) they brewred this beer with wild rice, brown rice and white rice, along with some base malts. I’m pretty sure that this let them have such a  hop forward beer yet somehow the rice holds it together. That is not something I would ever have expected.

My notes say the FF was the sixth beer I tasted and I could still smell robo scrote. Just sayin’.

Double Mountain: Goliathon
I wrote: “Velvety mouth and yummy Belgian thing.” They listed this beer as a Dark American-Belgo style and that probably sums it up well. I believe I went for this specifically because of what I saw on my Twitter feed on Friday. It was around this point that the mug I had was starting to lose it’s evil robo sex smell. By then, I’d washed it out with hot water, twice, borrowed from the Oregon Brew Crew’s brewing demonstration.

Odell: St Lupulin Extra Pale
I dig it! It is a really good pale NW style, meaning it was overhopped. Still tasty though. At this time, I also sipped on Prodigal Son’s American pale and found it vegetal and did not like it at all.

Red Rock: Elephino Double IPA
I wrote: “look you bring a double IPA to the NW motherfucker, you’d best bring the ruckus!
There’s no nose here! OK otherwise and a nice finish but double IPA? No.”
We’ll say that I was feeling my oats at this point and move on, shall me?
pic

Full Sail berliner weissFull Sail: Chris’ Summer Delight Berliner Weiss
I wrote: “Good on them for a very different ale. It’s tart qualities at the finish really do help and crazy enough, make it feel summery like lemon aid.” This was a nice beer to finish out on; not to heavy or boozy and as the day was getting much warmer by now, the refreshing qualities of this beer really stood out.

One thought on “OBF Wrapup”

Leave a Reply

