7pm Second Chances

Pints Summer IPAA couple months ago I went by Pints and tried an IPA of theirs and wasn’t too fond of it. However, I don’t think I’m one to hold a grudge so when I saw that their Green Line Summer IPA was on at Bailey’s, I thought I’d give it another go.

It’s not bad. At the very least, there isn’t any weird flavors at the end: it tastes like an IPA brewed in the Northwest ought to taste, with a strong grapefruit presence both at the nose and finish. It’s still a little off…there’s something in this beer that’s making my mouth water in an unusual way. I’m not sure if it’s the hops or if the malt build is such that it’s light and going for a more ‘quenching’ feel but damn, if I don’t want to spit a lot after this beer.

I am suddenly overcome with wanderlust. This happens about twice a year; I can no longer stand where I am and need to leave, go anywhere and not be subject to the institutions I have embraced. It’s a little bit like needing a vacation and a little like wanting to burn down your home and walk away to start over somewhere new, a stranger.

This may be hitting me tonight because the pub is especially crowded; I’m sitting at the bar yet there are still men stacked behind me, over my shoulder, unwilling to go up to the ordering platform.

I don’t blame them: this space is casual enough that you can just order if you catch someone’s attention but at the same time, I want them to not be looking over me while I write. The volume is suddenly too loud; the good part is that the reggae is drowned out, the bad is that the enclosure feels more enclosed.

Maybe I should give myself a short break, go elsewhere for a couple weeks? My next vacation isn’t until September and that just feels like eternity from where I am. With the anniversary party coming up, it’s going to be all Bailey’s all the time and I don’t want to get burnt out.

2 thoughts on “7pm Second Chances”

  1. May I recommend the Horse Brass? No matter how crowded it gets, it never feels crowded…if that makes sense. Not sure if that is too far from your neck o’ the woods, though. My favorite place to grab a pint, by far.

    1. I do like the Horse Brass quite a bit and many nights I can find a spot well lit enough to write and play cards. I doubt I’ll stay away for long: the 5th Anniversary is coming up and I don’t miss that event.

Leave a Reply

