Two Pales

So now my pale ale experiment has come to a conclusion and it’s time for some results!

The first one-the one I made second but had to bottle first, due to an accident-has a nice orangey nose with the malt character passing quickly into a drying sensation, not unlike white wine.

It’s also ferociously carbonated. Seriously: it was ready to go within a week of bottling and has only become more effervescent since then. It’s not impossible to drink by any means and the bubbles mean there’s a sensation of lightness as well as a palate cleansing moment that makes it fantastic with nachos. Or any other pub grub. Now I just need to find the pub that will let me bring this in so I can have it whilst eating meatball subs with bacon and chicken strips.

Dear Universe: Please make a meatball sub with bacon and chicken strips, extra provolone. For me. I’ll be extra good and write about it on the blog, I promise.

Then we have the second beer-which I brewed first but bottled second-has a sweeter flavor to it, much less hop nose and no bite, with less carbonation as well. Though the carbonation still sparks on the near-tip of my tongue, right behind where you’d taste sweet the best. From a visual perspective, they look very, very similar: I’m hard pressed even from the photos, to tell one apart from the other. They’re both clear and pretty close in hue.

This is a good beer, a little easier to drink than the other but I’m not sure if that’s because it’s the second beer I’ve had tonight or if it’s actually easier.

I mean, at some point, I’m just happy it’s homebrew. Recipes will be posted next week!

Leave a Reply

