7pm The Last Roar of Winter

Fuz has come to visit. For me, this is a default Good Thing. Sadly, the Great Divide Hibernation from ’10 (a winter warmer) is not quite treating me. There’s a hint of a dirty flavor at the end; subtle enough to be curious about it, present enough that I know I’m not dreaming the flavor. Still, it washes down the burrito from next door pretty well and the nose is a pretty lush, chocolaty thing so it’s hard to complain.

Winter WarmerI think I was drawn to the Cascade because of the rain and the wind today; wind is to cold like humidity is to heat and the gusts certainly feel like hostility from the breath of Mother Nature herself, coupled with rain blowing into my face.

But: Fuz is here. And the thing about old friends being around simply this: none of that other shit matters. I see it nearby as some fellows meet up at a table, hugging each other as each one arrives, bright eyed greetings from their mouths. They don’t care about all the dreary shit that may be going on, they are just happy to be in each others’ company.

I miss my friends. Not all of them are in Portland and my oldest ones are certainly farther away. It doesn’t take a birthday for me to acknowledge this. I have a good beer: man, I wish they were around to share it with. I read a good comic, or book, or essay; I want to share it with them and talk about it. I want to play games with them: not just because I love games (though I do) but because it is a way to keep connecting to people I love.

That said; I’m lucky and have met cool people in the city who are also friends and care for me. I don’t wish to disrespect the new or the old, because I’m part of both of those worlds and am grateful to exist there.

When I consider this, the fortune or rough seas I have navigated, the skies roaring at me, the beer not quite being so perfect; that just doesn’t matter as long as I have friends to visit with, everything is going to be alright, man. Even if it isn’t alright, it still seems to work out alright. Let’s have a pint, you and I and tell each other a story. Let’s be Good Times together.

One thought on “7pm The Last Roar of Winter”

Leave a Reply

