7pm Great Minds

I’m meeting friends so I’m at Bailey’s early tonight. Don’t worry: I’ll still be here at 7, so everyone wanting to meet the rockstar of this joint can still do so.

oakshire and burnside alesIt’s nice to have pals working the bar: those two beers in the picture? The one in the foreground I’m drinking because the beer I wanted, Oakshire‘s Ill-Tempered Gnome, was pouring badly, which they told me before they poured a drop. So I went with a Burnside Alter Ego imperial IPA to wet my whistle in the meantime and the staff was kind enough bring the Gnome out to me when it was finally ready.

I’d barely even touched the Ego, too! Still, I’m double fisting smaller beers tonight, so no worries about going too far. And soon, dinner. Mmmm…dinner.

Times like this, the simple things really are some of the best: a small place where they know me, good beer, the promise of tasty food. People to play games and chat with.

Friend comes in, I tell him about the Ill Tempered Gnome: it has a flavor like chocolate milk! He tries it and agrees, it’s good. “But you can’t drink it for five minutes,” I tell him. “So you order two beers at the same time,” he replies.

Heh. Great minds, right? Good times, good times, as my sister says.

One thought on “7pm Great Minds”

Leave a Reply

