Revisiting: Deschutes Mirror Pond

mirror pondThis beer is frequently a classic for me and always on the ‘go-to’ list. Except in Portland, I never need to go to it, because there’s always something I haven’t had and should try.

So here’s Deschutes’ Mirror Pond and it’s still fairly tasty. The nose is a little skunked and I’m not sure why: hop scents of citrus or pine are barely present which is a touch disappointing. Still, the beer is very, very clean and just the kind of thing to go with the pub food staples: fries, nachos, meat-based somethings. There’s a solid floral bitterness on the finish that’s soon wiped away by the effervescence of the beer, good to stave off grease or other overwhelming flavors that are brought about by salt and/or meat.

I don’t think I’m looking to trade away this classic from the go-to list but I also recognize that its stability is what drives me towards other beers: if I know what something does already, I’m more curious about what I don’t know.

2 thoughts on “Revisiting: Deschutes Mirror Pond”

  1. Mirror Pond has been a staple for me for many years now. That is until this last year or so. I don’t know if it’s a problem at the brewery or in the line of distribution and storage but I’ve had a lot of disappointing bottles. Whole 12-packs that were, to me, undrinkable; I’m quite particular. I’m not giving up on it, but if there is something else that I am fond of available I’m not as likely to take this home with me.

    1. It wouldn’t surprise me if they were or had tweaked the recipe for Mirror Pond recently. They don’t seem to hold their recipes sacrosanct–I know that the successful Jubleale was redone this year, to hearken back to an earlier version, by way of example–so it’s possible that they fiddled with things to an extent that made it unpleasant to you.

      Though I would be startled to find really radical shifts in the beer, just because it’s meant to be on of their pillars, you know?

Leave a Reply

