0-2

I made two lagers because I figured I had the time for it. Maybe if the first one didn’t quite work out, the other would benefit from some of my prior experience. And so the lager saga continues, as you can see.

 

There we are. In this case, there isn’t much of a band-aid flavor (although that gently kicks up at the end) it’s mostly too sweet and the carbonation is clearly off the charts. I don’t know that I’d say this beer is undrinkable but it sure as hell isn’t to any style you could imagine.

Although I have to admit, I knew there were going to be issues when I pulled this beer from the garage as you can see here:

moldy bottles

That is indeed mold on the bottles.

So I can’t actually recommend the beer. I wouldn’t want to give it to someone to drink without serious caveats, such as:

“Can you tell me what the fuck is wrong with this?”

Or

“How the hell did this crime against drinkablity happen?”

You know. Those kinds of things.

These sorts of mistakes remind me that there is a whole lot I don’t know about brewing and a broad range of subjects to learn about and people I need to listen to in order to improve my process. I don’t consider this a bad thing but it’s still a little disappointing to have both lagers come out badly.

4 thoughts on “0-2”

  1. Ouch, I feel for you. My brewing partner and I just completed our maiden lager voyage. Knowing how hard it is, we were shocked at the outcome–a tasty, clean, crisp pilsner. My basement (you might call it a cement root cellar) stays a nearly constant 50 degrees during the winter, and that seemed to do the trick. Otherwise, if you stick with a single-infusion mash (decoction–ha!), the results are nothing to be ashamed of.

    1. That’s really cool! I mean, that it worked out is awesome, especially on the first try.

      I kept my bottles out in the garage, so the temperature really dropped on some days but it never got to freezing so I figured I was OK.

      I think, however, that infection got to these beers more than error. Not that there wasn’t error, just that infection really screwed them up. The up side for me is that I’ve become a bit more conscious of my sanitizing methods.

Leave a Reply

