The Glories of Open Source

There was a statement running around MtG circles for awhile that insisted ‘information wants to be free’. Read it for at least a year at Star City Games in one column after another a few years ago. The basic idea was; people want to share information and after that, it’s up to you to execute the plays needed to win. The internet is kind of the mega-extension of this idea; the info is out there, now all you have to do is the work.

So in that spirit, I was thrilled to see Hopwork’s Gigabit IPA be open source. Sure, I get recipes all the time from books or the local store but how often to I get a crack at one vetted by pros? (This is not to cast any discouragement on my fellow homebrewers, many of whom work a hell of a lot longer and harder than I do to get interesting beers made but I can’t think of any reason to pass up ideas from professionals when they’re offered.) Thus, I made it-or at least, as best I could approximate given my finances and available resources. Recipe follows:

Malt:

Steeping: .5 lb Munich
.25 lb C15
.25 lb C40
.25 lb C60

Fermentables: 3 lb Amber malt, powder
7 lb LME

Hops:
Handful of Golding @ 60
Magnum .25 oz @ 60
.5 oz Rainier, Simcoe @ 15
.75 oz Rainier, Simcoe @ 5

IG: 1.065

TG: 1.01

Gigabit closeSo this beer was at about 7.21% ABV-which is one of the higher-alcohol brews I’ve made. And let me tell you, it’s fantastic. The end notes aren’t too bitter like many NW IPAs tend to be, there’s a nice head on the beer (as you can see from the pic) so the citrus elements can be smelled when you pour, plus it’s carbonated like it ought to be, the malts aren’t overpowering. I mean; despite not being able to exactly re-create the original, I was able to make a pretty drinkable ale and so full credit to the Hopworks guys for coming up with and sharing the recipe.

And a little pat on the back for myself for adapting their recipe and pulling off a pretty good beer. What the hell, I deserve it. If there’s a drawback to this one, it’s that it’s so drinkable that I’ve gone through it way too quickly!

9 thoughts on “The Glories of Open Source”

  1. Apropos of nothing (I wish the keyboard had an “empty set” sign) in your blog. I have just tried the Miles Davis’ Bitches Brew. I know not how to evaluate it as you do but… it’s pretty good. Kinda sweet but enough bitter to make it palatable as beer rather than wine. Chocolaty, I guess. Anyway, give it a try. I got it at Whole Foods.

Leave a Reply

