The Experiment 4: the irish side

irish ale in carboyThis is the pale ale I made using Irish ale yeast. In contrast to the one with Belgian yeast, I also added a handful of Golding hops as well, because I wanted to give this beer something other than malt to work with. Irish ale yeast being very clean, I was afraid that the beer might come out bland.

The picture isn’t the best–the beer is much lighter looking than the photo suggests but the beer has been bottled now so there ought to be results next week on how it came out!

The other differences in the beer are in the Terminal Gravities: the Belgian had one of 1.011 and the Irish 1.016.

I don’t think there’s much difference in the ABV really but I figure that by noting even the small differences, I’ll know more about what happened with each beer.

Leave a Reply

