Red Is The Color Of My True Love’s Hair

On the upside; this beer is carbonated.

On the downside, there’s a…twinge of sour at the finish which is so inappropriate for an amber that I don’t even know where to begin.

I blame myself.

This beer is one of the first that I made using Star San as a sanitizer for use in secondary. I am pretty certain that I didn’t use that sanitizer properly and this allowed for a funkiness to get in the beer. Nothing too dramatic, nothing I can’t live with, but not one I’d gleefully share.

Brew Date: 4.19.14

Steeping Grains
2 lb C 80
2 LB Special B

Fermentables: 7 lb Light malt extract

Hops
.75 oz Columbus @60
.5 oz US Northern Brewer @60
.5 oz US Northern Brewer@30
.25 oz Ahtanum @30
.25 oz Columbus @ 15
.75 oz Ahtanum@15

Yeast: 3rd Wyeast use, done

OG: 1.069

FG: 1.022

ABV: 6.3%

3 thoughts on “Red Is The Color Of My True Love’s Hair”

  1. It happens. At least you can still drink it. My last batch that went bad was so unpalatable I found myself dumping out two cases in my side yard. Couldn’t even use it to cook with.

Leave a Reply

