Spokane

It’s been a little while but I do want to recap some of the places I went to on my last trip to the mighty Spokane.

First, I checked out a new (to me) place, the Manito Tap House. I don’t know if it was the luck of the draw or the lateness of the hour (I got in around 11pm) but I found it to be pretty awesome. Well lit, nice seats and the bartender was the kind of knowledgeable wiseass you hope to get.

While there, I tried out an offering (I believe it was a pale but I didn’t take notes) from Iron Goat Brewing, which I liked. I was able to try one of their ambers later on and I liked that too.

For some reason, I associate Spokane with amber ales. Seems like they enjoy that style there quite a bit. This may have a little to do with the success of Northern Lights‘ Crystal Bitter, which, as far as I know, is probably the most successful local brew. I could be wrong but it did seem pretty ubiquitous everywhere I went.

Finally, I swung by Cannon Coffee & Cone, which is owned by a buddy of mine from back in the day. I don’t drink coffee, so all I can tell you about that is what my sister said: the coffee is excellent. But it’s a neat little place, equal to any funky Portland coffehouse, and I was able to get a pumpkin ice cream with chocolate chips in it from there. Which I liked. A lot. If you’re headed through the city and need some coffee, I say get some there.

Leave a Reply

